Violet Rays  +Glass Passenger  +Mind That Bird
  • 21h30

Alternative / Folk

Sarah Pearson (Emerging Artists-MIKE FM), February 26 2010

Violet Rays first hit the scene in 2009 after winning the Réalise ton Rêve recording contest sponsored by Archambault, Musitechnic, and Audiobec. They have since played an active role in the growing indie-folk scene of Montreal.

“When I was listening to your music, it really spoke to me.  It was the right combination of Folk- Acoustic and a little bit of girl rock band with a lot of heart and enough grit to make it edgy.”

Alternative / Folk

Ce groupe de Montréal, influencé par la musique de Bob Dylan, Tom Waits, Leonard Cohen, est composé de David Kunstatter (vocals, guitars, harmonica), Rachelle Mantha (piano, organ, voice), Stéphanie Vermette (violin, mandolin, "it's sax now", voice), Nicole MacDonald (cello, voice), Mathiew Lobraico (double bass), Philippe Skeene (drums), David Deo (city), James Peters (mountains). Jean-Carol Guénard (boat)

Folk / Indie / Rock

Originaire de Montréal, cet ensemble de six musiciens offre de belles ballades country rock tzigane avec un petit côté folk mélancolique. Les chansons composées et livrées par Dylan Perkons, sont d'une grande profondeur. Avec sa voix unique et accompagné de Lisa Malachowski, Ari Swan au violon, Terry Boisvert à la guitare, Adrian Bergman à la basse et Rob DeKonick à la batterie, il livre un spectacle fort en émotions.

Mind That Bird was formed in the summer of 2009 when singer and guitarist Dylan Perkons wanted to explore what his long time love for crafting songs could evolve into with the help of other gifted and passionate people. After going through a few different line-up changes and exploring different sounds, the group settled on permanent members, Lisa Malachowski (keys, vocals), Adrian Bergman (bass, vocals), Terry Boisvert (guitars), and Rob De Konink (drums, percussion). With their honed direction the group entered the studio in the fall of 2011 to record their debut EP To the Temple, Through this City. The album is set for release this upcoming spring.